Hot topics

What to Do If Your Security Code Changes on WhatsApp

NextPit WhatsApp gray
© nextpit

Read in other languages:

The message "Your security code has changed" is currently unsettling many WhatsApp users! If you have also received or seen this message, NextPit tells you what it means and how you can deactivate such annoying notifications.


TL;DR:

  • Many WhatsApp users see the message "Your security code has changed" in November.
  • This is a number that is required for secure encryption of chats.
  • If you receive the message, you don't have to do anything else, but good news! You can deactivate the annoying message.

Even though WhatsApp has been criticized often in terms of data protection, the instant messenger has been encrypting your chats for a few years now. The recently renamed "Meta" Facebook works with 60-digit security numbers, which are intended to secure messages from the prying eyes of third parties. In November, many NextPit readers in Germany received the message "Your security number has changed".

In one of our forums on the morning of November 5, there were a number of people who posted in a thread concerning this very issue. It wasn't only there but on Twitter as well where I came across some really concerned WhatsApp users. Hence, my curiosity was piqued and I decided to be adventurous by performing a little bit more research on the matter.

"Your security code has changed": What the message means and how do I avoid it in the future?

WhatsApp updates security codes regularly and normally, you don't even notice it. As WhatsApp wrote on its Security and Privacy page, this happens when one of your contacts reinstalls the instant messenger or changes his/her mobile number. The code is automatically transferred, but you can also wish to be notified of this matter. This can be performed via a setting in WhatsApp.

  1. Open WhatsApp Settings.
  2. Tap Account > Security.
  3. From here, you can enable security notifications by tapping Show Security Notifications.

Maybe this has been set to "On" and that's the reason why you kept on seeing such messages. However, WhatsApp may have also changed some of the users' security codes in November, and that's the reason why you received this message. While I have asked WhatsApp about the exact reason behind this, I have yet to receive a reply.

Basically, the fact that your (or somebody else's) security code has changed is no cause for alarm!

The best camera phones to buy in 2024

  Editor's Choice The Best Android Alternative The Best Camera iPhone The Best Camera Under $1,000 The Best Camera Under $600 The Best Camera Under $500 The Best Camera Foldable
Product
Image Google Pixel 8 Pro Product Image Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra Product Image Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max Product Image Google Pixel 8 Product Image Google Pixel 7 Product Image Google Pixel 7a Product Image OnePlus Open Product Image
Review
Review: Google Pixel 8 Pro
Review: Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra
Review: Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max
Review: Google Pixel 8
Review: Google Pixel 7
Review: Google Pixel 7a
Review: OnePlus Open
Offer*
Go to comment (0)
Benjamin Lucks

Benjamin Lucks
Head of Editorial DE

Ben has been working in tech journalism since 2018, was a freelancer in the middle of the CoVid-crisis and has been full-time at NextPit since November '20. Since then he has tries to find the right mix between professional competence, humor and fresh perspectives in reviews and texts.

View all articles
Liked this article? Share now!
Recommended articles
Latest articles
Push notification Next article
No comments
Write new comment:
All changes will be saved. No drafts are saved when editing
Write new comment:
All changes will be saved. No drafts are saved when editing