Huawei Ascend P6 — huawei ascend p6 whatsapp issue

• Replies:7
Gerben van Melle
  • Forum posts: 1

Mar 17, 2014, 2:14:51 PM via Website

Hey guys, i've got a problem with my new huawei ascend p6. i wanted to transfer my whatsapp conversations from my old phone, a samsung, to my huawei, and on rhe internet it says that you'll be automatically asked if you want the backup from your sd card to be imported to whatsapp.this did not happen! can you please help me out and explain it as easily as pissible, as im really new to this? Thanks in advance!

Aikin Joseph
  • Forum posts: 11

Apr 21, 2014, 6:44:23 PM via Website

Would you just export whatsApp messages, then import it to your new phone?

Sorin

Patrick
  • Forum posts: 1

Jul 25, 2014, 4:26:35 PM via Website

Hello John,

If life were that simple it would be fun ;-)

On the Huawei you have two SD cards, one is the Internal Storage (SD0), the other is the external SD card (SD1). When you run Whatsapp for the first time it only seems to check the first SD card (SD0), if it sees a Whatsapp folder then you get the question if you want to restore the data.
In the Huawei case it doesn't see a Whatsapp folder on SD0 so it assumes you are a new user. It now creates the Whatsapp folder and starts Whatsapp.

So the question should be "what can you do to let Whatsapp check other SD cards for existing backups?".

Regards,

Patrick.

Sorin

John
  • Forum posts: 14

Jul 26, 2014, 12:00:13 PM via Website

Hello john f.