Race condition - two or more listeners clashing?

• Replies:0
Karol Krajcir
  • Forum posts: 1

Mar 19, 2018, 7:16:09 PM via Website

In short, I am working on an app which is meant to get the current user last known location and show nearby users (within radius of 30km) on Swipe Cards. I am using FireBase and GeoFire to accomplish this. Before I implemented location querying, I was only using

onChildAdded()

listener to fetch all the users from the database - and it worked fine.

However, when I added location querying which uses another set of listeners, I started to get random and unexpected results. For instance duplicates - it would fetch all users twice and then display them on two subsequent cards, i.e. I would swipe user A the first time and then the same user would appear on the following card again. To add to the confusion, this only happens sometimes. I am new to GeoFire, but I am suspecting the listeners are somehow clashing.

Here's my code:

1) in onCreate(), I check for location permissions. Subsequently, I request location updates using FusedLocationProviderClient every two minutes. All working fine and as expected.

2) every two minutes, I receive the current location and this onLocationResult() callback is triggered:

// location callback - get location updates here:
LocationCallback mLocationCallback = new LocationCallback() {
    @Override
    public void onLocationResult(LocationResult locationResult) {
        Log.d("MainActivity", "onLocationResult triggered!");
        for(Location location : locationResult.getLocations()) {
            mCurrentLocation = location;
            Log.d("MainActivity", "Lat: " + mCurrentLocation.getLatitude() + ", Long: " + mCurrentLocation.getLongitude());
            // write current location to geofire:
            mGeofireDB = FirebaseDatabase.getInstance().getReference("Locations");
            GeoFire geofire = new GeoFire(mGeofireDB);